LearnDash Buddy Up - Overview
- Install and activate the LearnDash plugin.
- Install and activate the LearnDash BuddyUp Add-on.
- A New Buddy Up Settings menu will be added to the LearnDash menu.
In general settings, an admin can configure the following options:
- Max BuddyUp allowed Users:
This option allows the admin to select the number of users that can be added to a course group. By default, this option is set to two users.
- Max Users Display On Course Page:
This option allows the admin to determine the maximum number of users displayed in the list on the course page.
- Approval Page:
This option allows the admin to select the page where the user will be redirected to after they approve the invitation email.
- Decline Page:
This option allows the admin to select the page where the user will be redirected to after they decline the invitation email.
- Permission Denied:
This option allows the admin to select the page where the user will be redirected to after the group admin rejected their request for joining a group.
In this tab, the admin can create an email to inform users about approved BuddyUp requests.
If the name of the email sender is needed, then use the [user_from] shortcode. To include the URL for the approval page, enter the [approval_url] shortcode. To include the URL for the decline page, enter [disapproval_url] shortcode. If the name of the email receiver is needed, then use [user_to] shortcode. If the course title is required, then use [course_title] shortcode.
In this tab, the admin can create an email (subject and content) to send when a BuddyUp request is rejected.
If the user course URL is needed, then use [course_url] shortcode. If the sender’s name is required, then use [user_from] shortcode. To include the name of the email receiver, use the [user_to] shortcode. To have the course title use the [course_title] shortcode.
In these settings, the admin can create an email to be sent when a BuddyUp invitation is made.
If the user course URL is needed, then use [course_url] shortcode. If the sender’s name is required, then use the [user_from] shortcode. To include the name of the email receiver, use the [user_to] shortcode. To include the course title use the [course_title] shortcode. You can also include the URLs for request approval and decline pages using the [approval_url] and [disapproval_url] shortcode.
In these settings, the admin can disallow user roles and users from creating and using Course Groups.
The license tab is for the License Configuration. The user has to enter a valid license key for this product to get automatic updates.
Under this tab, there is a list of usable ShortCodes that can be used with the LearnDash BuddyUp plugin. You can use these shortcodes on pages or posts.
Inviting Students & Creating Course Group:
To create a Course group, the user has to send a Group Buddy Up request by navigating to the Course page. There will be a search box with an “Invite” button next to it. Search for the username of the student you want to add to the course group and click on the Invite button.
When the user clicks on the Invite button, a notification will be shown, and an approval email will be sent to that student. After acceptance, that student will be added to your Course group, and the Course Group box will be visible on the course page.
Note: There can be multiple buddied-up groups in a single course, but one user can only join one group at a time in a single specific course.
For example, If there is a course and four users enrolled in that course, user1 and user2 in that group will not be allowed to join any other group in this course. They can only join another group if they leave this group.
Note: If a user rejects an invitation email, the sender will not be able to send them an invitation email again.
Joining A Course Group:
If there is an existing Course group in a particular course, any student viewing the course page will notice a Course Group box with the members of that Course Group. There will be a button labeled as “Join.”
Students can join that course group by simply clicking the Join button.
After creating the Buddy Up group, a live chatbox will be visible on the page’s right bottom corner. All the buddied up students can use the chatbox to talk about the corresponding course.
Note: The chat will be displayed in all types of course content except for quizzes.
Leave A BuddyUp Group:
Leaving a Buddy Up group is pretty simple too.
A user just has to go to the respective course page and go to the Course Group box. There you will find a “Leave” button. Upon clicking that button, the user can leave the Course Group.
Single course page settings:
The admin can set the Buddy Up option for every course individually from the create/edit course page > Buddy Up meta box. This option lets the admin allow or disallow students to develop course groups for that course.
Single User Settings:
The admin can set the Buddy Up option for every user individually from Add/Edit User > Buddy Up Information. This option lets the admin allow/disallow the student to receive requests to join course groups.
Note: If a user has been disallowed, no one can send a new request/invitation to that user. However, the user can remain a member of previously created groups.